Author Topic: I can't feel pleasure and sitting doesn't help anymore, please help  (Read 10107 times)

darklord06

Hello,

Today, I am writing this post because I really need some help or advice, the once thing that used to work for me, sitting, doesn’t work anymore.

Ever since I graduated from a business school 10 years ago, my life has been a failure.  I never found a decent job , I could only find call center jobs that drove me crazy (I hated being a “phone monkey”) in between long periods of unemployment) and now, at 32 years old I still live with my parents.
I have no friend, a girlfriend is a distant memory and I just can’t see how I could get of the hole I am in, since I haven’t been able to build a career.

Because of this situation, I fell into depression, I tried to battle it on my own for years until I couldn’t take it anymore and I went to see a psychiatrist, he prescribed me an antidepressant (seroxat).

It seemed to work but I really reached a state of “balance” only after I discovered meditation and I started sitting daily, all of a sudden my life didn’t hurt as much. I just felt “lucky” for being alive and all my problems seemed “temporay”, just as my life on this earth.

After a while, and after a little research I grew more and worried about the potential long term effects of antidepressants on my brain, so I decided to stop being on meds. The first few months, sitting seemed to be enough, but my “demons” came back with a vengeance.

I used to be able to focus much easier, to “empty” my mind but all the progress I have made disappeared. I can barely focus anymore, I am haunted by random thoughts and I cannot detach myself from them anymore. Recently It has gotten even worst, I cannot even feel pleasure anymore, I can’t enjoy the things I liked in the past, when I listen to music it is just noise to me, when I surf I don’t feel anything, I just feel dead.