Author Topic: What do you do for a living?  (Read 4760 times)

budo

What do you do for a living?
« on: October 31, 2010, 01:59:01 PM »
I'm a computer programmer, which pays really well and there's always work, however sitting 40 hours in front of a computer is really unhealthy and is starting to affect my health, I am harming my body. I am looking for a healthy job and was wondering what everyone else is doing for a living?

I am thinking of having several small jobs than one large job. For example, I'd like to study Yoga and then teach it. I would like to be a freelance photographer. I enjoy tennis so I would like to teach tennis as well.  If I could make money off art/painting I would do that as well.

What do you do for a living? Are you happy with your career path?

Thanks!
Budo
« Last Edit: October 31, 2010, 02:12:04 PM by budo »

rideforever

Re: What do you do for a living?
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2010, 07:38:30 PM »
Hi

I am also a programmer.  And I feel it is damaging me to be interfacing with a machine all day.  Especially since my biggest pains are my inability to have fun with real people.  I met a guy in India who taught me to paint - he said that this kind of work might actually be damaging me. :-(

But it is easy, well paid, and available.  Which makes me sad.  I don't know how to do anything else.

And also I look at other jobs - people in 'nice' jobs have a rotten time ... I live with a lady who is a therapist in the NHS and she is under massive stress, it's not nice.

Being a programmer can mean a lot of freedom - use it I reckon.  This is a gift ... in a world where many jobs are very nasty.

I have managed to organise some working from home time for the last 3 years and it is good.  But still, I would prefer to be in a village working with my hands and being with people all day long and celebrating under the stars every night with laughter and songs.  Time to go see Osho !

S

Matthew

• The Irreverent Buddhist