Author Topic: Thinking Contemplating Reflection  (Read 1895 times)

Mungo

• Shamatha
    • Smiling Politely
Thinking Contemplating Reflection
« on: October 26, 2010, 06:07:20 AM »
Hi everybody,

Im very new to all this - both the forum, meditation and the teaching - but have found both the sitting and the gradually increasing moments of mindfulness and awareness during the day have brought a renewed clarity which is all quite new to me. One of my problems? though has been my analytical mind. My question here is about my confusion of the difference between thinking, contemplating and reflection. Sometimes (when not meditating) an object, idea or concept enters my head and I find myself staring into the void and looking at it.

For example - many years ago I used to surf a lot and when the waves were small I used to go to my favourite spot on the cliff and look out at the world below. I would start to wonder about the things I couldn't see underneath the waves and rockpools - the creatures the coral. I would often get mesmerized by the sparkle of the water and begin to think about what is between the ocean and the sky. Technically I knew it was nothing but would sit for ages with this in my head. Recently this "happy place" popped up whilst meditating one morning. I saw it and put it aside but later that day it came back with something attached (my version of an answer anyway) that the ocean is continually evaporating into the sky and the "sky" is mixing and dissolving as oxygen into the ocean so its always changing and not particularly separate.

Is all this just another delusion to keep my mind distracted? Is thinking, contemplating or reflecting useful in any way?

Best wishes..
You can't wake a person who is pretending to be asleep

Matthew

• The Irreverent Buddhist
  • Staff
  • Meditation: It's a D.I.Y. project.
    • KISS: Keep it simple stupid.
    • Getting nowhere slowly and enjoying every moment.
Re: Thinking Contemplating Reflection