Author Topic: psychedelic drugs and meditation  (Read 13484 times)

armankhosro

psychedelic drugs and meditation
« on: September 08, 2010, 03:06:03 PM »
hi and greetings to everyone,

This is my first post, I am new to meditation but I feel that I'm good at it (just tried a few sittings). But now, I just want to know if I use psychedelics (DMT, LSD) now, does it harm my future efforts to meditation? Will it cause any long lasting effect on my meditation practice two years later?

Thanks in advance :)

atalero

Re: psychedelic drugs and meditation
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2010, 03:07:34 PM »
I think I am in love with this post.

Inner Peace

« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2010, 03:23:26 PM »
The answer to your question is irrelevant.

If you are wanting to take drugs, avoid them. This is simply a form of desire.  Meditate, label it, feel it, let it go, bring your focus back.

If you have already taken drugs, it is done and in the past.  Your concern is simply worry or anxienty. Meditate, label it, feel it, let it go, bring your focus back.

atalero

« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2010, 04:11:19 PM »
Agreed.  The drugs aren't the problem, though.  The need to add to what is already there seems off.  It's like saying, "I ran a mile yesterday.  Maybe I should run 10 miles while on fire."  You are missing the benefit of the initial exercise;  You are looking for things to experience, instead of experiencing what is there.

Good luck on the journey.

boe

« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2010, 05:15:26 PM »
I've had my share of Psychedelic drugs in the past and i choose not to take them anymore.
I used to believe that they might help one to stay in a state of enlightenment forever,
e.g. the "high" never wears off.

I now don't believe this anymore.
It's possible to get high on the drugs but the high wears off.
Without a stable foundation you can't get high and just stay there, you're bound to fall.