Author Topic: how do i know my progress?  (Read 6027 times)

Anand

how do i know my progress?
« on: March 28, 2010, 03:59:54 PM »
Hi.
it's been four months I've been practicing meditation.I got introduced to vipassana through goenka trust.But now i follow whatever i have realized and understood after joining the forum.Although i believe that concentrating on the nostrils while meditation is not the right way.i try and observe my breathing as well as my thoughts as they pass by.
My question is..how do i know i am actually making any progress on the path? or rather how do i even know i am on the right path?
My only progress i can say that now i am able to sit comfortably for 1 hour. Is there anything else i am missing??

Morning Dew

Re: how do i know my progress?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2010, 05:33:14 PM »
..how do i know i am actually making any progress on the path? or rather how do i even know i am on the right path?

I am new to Vipassana but this comes to my mind; As soon one starts thinking like this one can be sure that he is chasing his own tail to reach something: the path, the way, his enlightment, happyness, etc ... soething that is far out there.

I assume that we will feel it once we peel off layers of our Ego and I only assume that such feeling is beyond our intelectual knowledge and beyond reason. I assume this feeling simply Is.

I feel that we are not to be concerned with where we are heading but rather how we are doing it while not doing a thing. I feel that our only job is to be mindful in the Now. Use your best tool to stay there, your breath.

I feel that via meditation we come to realise that we are not aiming anywhere, we are not going anywhere, we simply realise that we were already there all this time, only we were there blind folded thinking that we are to find the path to happiness and not realising that happiness Is the path (as Buddha said).

from http://www.deerparkthimphu.org/activities/shamatha.html