Author Topic: Not Sure  (Read 2403 times)

Papa1234

Not Sure
« on: February 22, 2010, 03:23:17 AM »
I have been exploring meditation for about three months. As I read more about it, it seems like the relaxation methods used for self-hypnosis and for meditation are much the same. I usually begin meditation by focusing on my breathing, counting backward from 100 and/or slowly progressively relaxing starting at my head and working down. I'm usually seated in a soft chair that supports my head. When I meditate, I find that I fall into a state much like sleep, but it seems different from when I nap or sleep at night. It consistently lasts 45 minutes or so, and I have no recollection of anything happening after I am relaxed and fall into this state. So I'm wondering ... am I hypnotizing myself, am I sleeping but don't know it, or is this typical of a meditative state?

Matthew

• The Irreverent Buddhist
  • Staff
  • Meditation: It's a D.I.Y. project.
    • KISS: Keep it simple stupid.
    • Getting nowhere slowly and enjoying every moment.
Re: Not Sure
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2010, 06:29:04 AM »
Papa1234,

Welcome to the forums.

I have been exploring meditation for about three months. As I read more about it, it seems like the relaxation methods used for self-hypnosis and for meditation are much the same. I usually begin meditation by focusing on my breathing, counting backward from 100 and/or slowly progressively relaxing starting at my head and working down. I'm usually seated in a soft chair that supports my head.

This chair, and the counting backward, won't be helping:

When I meditate, I find that I fall into a state much like sleep, but it seems different from when I nap or sleep at night. It consistently lasts 45 minutes or so, and I have no recollection of anything happening after I am relaxed and fall into this state. So I'm wondering ... am I hypnotizing myself, am I sleeping but don't know it, or is this typical of a meditative state?