Author Topic: Several questions from a complete beginner.  (Read 2230 times)

Halvalla

Several questions from a complete beginner.
« on: January 07, 2010, 03:55:58 AM »
Hello. I'm so glad I found this place.

I have been wanting to get into meditation-and Buddhism-for quite awhile but I never really realized it was something I could actually do, never realized it was something attainable and that I could do it without going off and living in solitude. Obviously my presence here shows that these assumptions have been proven immaculately wrong.  ;)

I read a few online sources explaining vipassana meditation and just meditation in general and found it to be something that I would really love to get into doing. After trying a couple sessions over the last couple of days, I have some questions.

First off, I have found that my attention span is great enough to do longer sessions than my body seems to want to do. It may be the way I'm sitting, but after only ten minutes or so my spine starts hurting as well as my left thigh. I can manage to block it out for another five or MAYBE ten minutes at best, but the pain eventually becomes too distracting to continue.  I sit on my bed using a pillow as a cushion and I sit with my legs crossed and hands clasped lightly in front of me. Is this kind of pain normal? Is it the way I'm sitting or is it just a matter of getting used to it and building up a tolerance for sitting for longer periods of time?