Author Topic: Need help with sitting position  (Read 3266 times)

hdavy2002

Need help with sitting position
« on: November 20, 2009, 10:52:09 AM »
Hi all,
I am new to meditation and was introduced to Vipassana recently. I am looking forward to do the 10 day retreat. My problem is that, I cannot sit in the lotus position for a long time, my legs go off to sleep in matter on minutes. Also I get back pain or I might doze off to sleep. I am an IT Manager and we have a busy day everyday. So the time I get is in the night or early morning. I always had chronic back issues. If I sit lotus style then my upper back pains me a lot.

Due to this issue, I can hardly concentrate on my breath. Any suggestions??

mindful1983

Re: Need help with sitting position
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2009, 03:17:38 PM »
u can try a position where you're kneeling, with a cushion between your calfs and your thigh/butt.
You can experiment with alot of positions similar to this (if its goenka retreat they required us to sit without chairs) i dont know about other traditions, or other countries.

As with full lotus, I took that position and didn't continue with half-lotus or burmese style lotus much because full lotus made a huge difference in how it supports the back. i think (but just based on my practice), half-lotus and burmese style will make ur back hurt even more

Stretching and yoga helped to increase circulation to my legs to help me with lotus position, also a healthier diet.
As with back pain. these stuff consistently happened when i was beginning meditation, but as we develop our awareness to our body, muscles, and back positin, we get more attuned to what is the proper posture, and what causes pain is more easily seen, and corrected. we get more sensitive and are able to make changes easier, while on the cushion.

xsmallard

« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2009, 11:30:45 PM »
Hi...