Author Topic: Beginners Meditation : when is the right moment?  (Read 1882 times)

kore

Beginners Meditation : when is the right moment?
« on: October 14, 2009, 01:43:16 AM »
Hello, I have been doing some research and am (possibly) interested in attending a Vipassana retreat at Spirit Rock. However, I have mixed feelings about the timing and would greatly appreciate any advice and feedback you all might have.

For the past couple of years I have undergone considerable emotional and physical turmoil, which has led me to utterly lose myself (unable to stop my mind) hence my desire and interest in doing a retreat.

As a total beginner to meditation in general, I have been told by some people that the vipassana retreat is very powerful (which is what I feel I need), and not advised for people who are feeling fragile. Other people seem to think that on the contrary, it could only be beneficial.

My fear is that of "falling apart" (getting overwhelmed by emotion) although in reality i don't know that I am fragile (ie breaking as much as I feel just highly sensitive and aware of the hardships of the past years.... I have developped considerable breathing blockages as a result of all this stress, and my attraction to mediation is to try and unblock these energies and get things flowing again.

Lastly, I must point out that I live in a country thus community where organized meditation is not available, and I find it very difficult to begin on my own precisely because I have trouble staying still. This is why, since the opportunity to attend is available, I am thinking about this retreat.

my apologies if these seems muddled,

thank you for your input,

Kore (Morocco)

mettajoey

• If you follow the standard allowable path, you'll get standard allowable results
  • Share the love
Re: Beginners Meditation : when is the right moment?
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2009, 01:03:35 PM »
Dear Kore,