Author Topic: Question on the Next Step  (Read 1731 times)

mcgee55

Question on the Next Step
« on: August 11, 2009, 11:43:24 PM »
I have been practicing mindfulness or insight meditation for approximately 3 months.  Mostly, I have been focusing on my breathing and noting things that take my attention away from it.  My mind has learned to concentrate better, and I can now reach a state where I feel I am ready to expand my practice.  My question is - what exactly should I do?  I have read Mindfulness in Plain English, and its not entirely clear to me. (the book is obviously a wealth of information, but for one with no formal teaching its difficult sometimes to piece it all together). When I reach that level of concentration, and the mind is calm and focused, should I direct my attention to something else I want to focus on, such as sounds, sensations, etc.?  If this is the case, I get a lovely ringing in my ear that I could sit and concentrate for a while.  Or, should it be more of a "choiceless awareness" of whatever is predominant at any of the 6 sense doors?  Just a little confused.  Thanks.

Hazmatac

Re: Question on the Next Step
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2009, 11:43:00 AM »
What do you mean by "expand your practice." The fact that you are able to concentrate better is good. The idea is to keep a prolonged concentration to the point of allowing repressed emotions and feelings to come up and allow them to get out of your system. So,
1. You don't need to change anything, just keep concentrating, and
2. You can concentrate on anything

Matthew

• The Irreverent Buddhist
  • Staff
  • Meditation: It's a D.I.Y. project.
    • KISS: Keep it simple stupid.
    • Getting nowhere slowly and enjoying every moment.
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2009, 03:10:58 PM »
Dear mcgee

Welcome to the forums.

"The next step .." ... "expand my practice ..." .... these sound like ego-driven goals of desire.