Author Topic: Eating Meat?  (Read 2503 times)

westex1

Eating Meat?
« on: July 24, 2009, 12:34:57 AM »
Hello,
I'm new to meditation and to this forum.
I was reading some of the post and I saw a few discussions on eating meat.
Some of the post said it was ok to eat meat, some just a little is ok, and some not at all. What is the official word on this subject? Is ok to eat meat if you hire someone to kill it for you? Will some one who hunts, or works in a slaughter house be unable to be liberated? Is ok to put out poison for cockroaches?
I read in one post that Hindu's wear screens over their mouth so they wouldn't  breath in bugs and kill them, then he added that they must be stepping  on them.
 I have read that playing music for plants will make them grow faster. Is a plant a life form to be revere? Some day, if we find a plant growing on Mars will the vegetarians want to go up there and eat it?
Please, don't get me wrong. I'm not advocating the wholesale slaughter of everything living , but even the act of meditation , the breathing in and out through your nose , involves impaling  small microscopic organism on your nose hairs.
So please, what is the official word on this? Is it all life or just the cute ones?

Matthew

• The Irreverent Buddhist
  • Staff
  • Meditation: It's a D.I.Y. project.
    • KISS: Keep it simple stupid.
    • Getting nowhere slowly and enjoying every moment.
Re: Eating Meat?
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2009, 01:20:31 AM »
Welcome to the forums,

There is no "official word" as such in Buddhism. The Buddha set rules that denied monks from eating meat in some cicrumstances. Some have debated if this was if they "knew, suspected or thought" it was in their bowl - or if they "knew, suspected or thought" it had been killed for them. It was one or the other.

However, the Buddha died seemingly after eating a poisoned dish of meat. He did not let any of his followers eat it.