Author Topic: Meditation in the supermarket  (Read 2348 times)

Stefan

• The Marvellous Omannobazong!!!
  • love is the key
    • Vipassana (Goenka), Freestyle, Family, God
Meditation in the supermarket
« on: October 24, 2007, 10:49:15 AM »
.... inspired by a reply of Paul (hi, man!), see the topic "meditation in the morning" ...

To a certain extend, we are what we eat. And when we enter a supermarket, we enter danger zone. As I mentioned before, I studied Biology and also Biochemistry - veeeery interesting. The ingredients of food became a little hobby for me, and I am not going to bore or scare you with all those horrible details.
There is a meditative way of checking the food you intend to buy: Clear your mind, enter the relaxed-and-aware state and then hold the food onto your belly. Now you do a sort of Vipassana: check the feelings that turn up as a reaction to this food. Like Vipassana, you don't anticipate anything, you don't try and create a feeling, you just observe what's coming up. A friend of mine who is very sensitive nearly threw up once (he was checking a lemon from spain ...), but normally you get a moderate reaction that indicates wether this particular food will do you good or not.
It has to be said that your reaction is just for you. Maybe the food is good, but it creates a bad reaction because of a personal incompatibility. Maybe there's poisonous pesticides on/ in the food, but at this moment your physiology is so strong that it couldn't harm you, and you get a neutral or even a good reaction.
This way of food-testing makes your life healthier and increases your sensibility, and it makes shopping funny.
(You can also check medicine, but not on your belly. Every (medical) drug should be checked by holding it onto the area of your thymus.)
In the beginning you will perhaps be insecure about your bodily reactions, so here's a good way to practice: