Author Topic: Permaculture - dharma in action?  (Read 6184 times)

Paul

Permaculture - dharma in action?
« on: February 25, 2009, 03:47:35 PM »
I'd love to hear what you all think of this.  I've been meditating and practising yoga for a couple of years now.  It was great to have an individual path, spiritual experience and to see things in a more realistic way, but after a while I started wanting to translate all this into a change in everyday, practical life.  After searching around I came across an idea called Permaculture, here's a definition: http://www.permaculture.org.uk/mm.asp?mmfile=whatispermaculture which seemed to me to be an excellent practical application of dharma in everyday life.  What do you all think?  Also have you made any changes in your everyday life to incorporate a more dharmic approach into it? 
« Last Edit: February 25, 2009, 03:49:01 PM by Paul »

Matthew

• The Irreverent Buddhist
  • Staff
  • Meditation: It's a D.I.Y. project.
    • KISS: Keep it simple stupid.
    • Getting nowhere slowly and enjoying every moment.
Re: Permaculture - dharma in action?
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2009, 06:59:03 AM »
Permaculture is good, you need a lot of land to make it work well. Getting off the grid and going self sufficient is a wise investment for self and family. Many services may fail in the next couple of years.
~oOo~     Tat Tvam Asi     ~oOo~    How will you make the world a better place today?     ~oOo~    Fabricate Nothing     ~oOo~

Paul

« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2009, 08:31:51 AM »
Hi TIB,

I agree with what you say about failing services!  In fact permaculture is not necessarily off-grid or self-dependent living, there's an important community aspect to it.  For example, someone without a lot of land (like me) could trade services for food with a local farmer in a LETS scheme.  Its the focus on living in harmony, both in nature and the community, that I find very close to dharma or the Tao.