Author Topic: Getting meditation  (Read 3214 times)

Jason

Getting meditation
« on: February 13, 2009, 05:54:42 AM »
hello everyone, Jason here. I have been practising Vipassana meditation on and off for a few years...but i never seem to get "it"....for example, i realize that the breathing is very coarse at the time u sit down and meditate and then it gets finer, is this the time where we shift our focus to develop the "sign"? I realize that i always go back to watching my breathing when i am starting to visualize the air going in and out of my nose tip....please help! Thanks.......(just realized that i was posting at the wrong board) :)

Paul

Getting meditation
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2009, 08:22:27 AM »
Hi Jason,

You're not the only one out there.  When I try to practise standard Vipassana as taught the Goenka (body sweeps) way I can assure you that aboslutely nothing happens!  Its a good concentration exersise, but apart from that it doesn't do much for me, my breating doesn't change, I never reach bliss etc., etc.

I think its a matter of 'horses for courses'.  I have since tried other practices, and some of them have really worked.  For exampne, for formal sitting meditation, Zen meditation really works for me.  Its very simple, you just sit and watch what goes on, using your breath as a background anchor to prevent you from flying off to the beach.   Iyengar Yoga works a treat for me too, I've learned a lot from practising yoga.  Even Aikido has taught me to let go of cetrain things, and live in a more effortless and haromnious way.