Author Topic: Is it bad advice to tell people to just focus on building the awareness "muscle"  (Read 228 times)

Username

• Who are you?
    • Non self taught
and if you do that you are most of the way there, its also a robust way of doing it because it relies on brain change rather than a delicate skill thats easily lost , im in no position to advise people but I did anyway I just want to know if I got it right.

On the plus side it seems this is the core/ essential/ skill to have.

Another plus side is my psychologist recommended I do it this way he is a man of science and his methods are proven ,  hes helping mentally ill people and a Dr
« Last Edit: February 08, 2021, 07:32:40 PM by Username »

Goofaholix

• Write something about yourself here
    • Theravada / Insight Meditation
I think as an approach to keeping practise simple as you start out it's good, as long as one has a basic understanding of what it is supposed to achieve and Buddhist right view.

As awareness develops and one starts to develop a better understanding of how the mind works wisdom starts to develop and a feedback loop develops, then practise isn't so simplistic as you start using the muscle you've developed.

dharma bum

• Certified Zen Master (second degree black belt)
    • vipassana
I've seen some of Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche's videos on youtube on meditation and he says - if you're aware you are meditating. I remember my first retreat and what mostly happened was that the mind slowed down so I became aware of how my thoughts and feelings worked.