Author Topic: Any tips for doing less Im trying for nothing but im not fully nothing  (Read 297 times)

Username

• Who are you?
    • Non self taught
 any tips for doing less Im trying for nothing but im not fully doing nothing im doing a little something

(sorry changed the question from original which was about being blissful)
« Last Edit: February 06, 2021, 12:36:00 PM by Username »

stillpointdancer

• stillpointdancer
  • Retired teacher, deepening understanding of Dharma
    • Insight meditation
    • Exploring the results of 30 years of meditating
Re: Any tips for getting to higher more ecstatic states?
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2021, 11:51:51 AM »
The good news is that meditation can be blissful and is certainly 'better' than alcohol or drugs. The bad news is that it isn't the purpose of meditation, just a side effect which may turn up after twenty years of meditating, to be ignored because by that time you know that is not the reason you meditate. My advice would be to try some nice relaxing meditation-style exercises for a while and see if they do anything for you.
“You do not need to leave your room. Remain sitting at your table and listen. Do not even listen, simply wait, be quiet, still and solitary. The world will freely offer itself to you to be unmasked, it has no choice, it will roll in ecstasy at your feet.” Franz Kafka

Username

• Who are you?
    • Non self taught
Re: Any tips for getting to higher more ecstatic states?
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2021, 12:05:08 PM »
The good news is that meditation can be blissful and is certainly 'better' than alcohol or drugs. The bad news is that it isn't the purpose of meditation, just a side effect which may turn up after twenty years of meditating, to be ignored because by that time you know that is not the reason you meditate. My advice would be to try some nice relaxing meditation-style exercises for a while and see if they do anything for you.