Author Topic: electrifying sensation?  (Read 456 times)

JavierAndrew

• Who are you?
    • theravada buddhism
electrifying sensation?
« on: January 18, 2021, 04:25:27 PM »
Hello I have been practicing vipassana since 20 years ago, and I think I understand properly the technique and I am aware that the way to evaluate if I advance on the path of meditation is by my degree of equanimity and not by the type of sensation I experience, and that I should not stay for more than 2 minutes in the same area and instead keep on moving to a different area, but it is true that my question is related to a specific type of sensation that is causing me trouble.
2 years ago I began to feel a vibrating sensation behind the right shoulder blade (it moves in that area) from being a gross vibration sensation to being a vibration like electricity, since then this sensation has been increasingly vibrating with much more energy to the point that this sensation continues even after leaving the meditation sesion, in the daily life, even in the last days I can't sleep because this feeling persists during the night.
Because it is such a strong and electrifying type of sensation, during meditation my whole body becomes electrified and when I pass through the spine, the whole of it is also becomes electrified.
A curious thing that happens to me outside the periods of meditation when I still have the sensation in that area (I understand this confirms we are talking about electricity), is that if I put my hand on the shoulder blade, the electrifying sensation ceases immediately and begins a new one just below where i put my hand.
Here is my question: