Author Topic: When do we accept the content of thoughts and judgment as 'valid'?  (Read 396 times)

PaulGib

• Who are you?
    • Beginning mindfulness, no attachment tonany school yet
Hello everyone, what a great place of wisdom this forum is, I am going to be doing a lot of reading of it!

The message sent to new members is also very helpful indeed, thanks to Middleway for that.

My queries are these. I have been meditating on and off for about 12 years, being introduced by the MBSR route. However, I find that he leaves me with mopre questions than answers and his verbose way of writing leaves me confuced even after all these years. These days I am going more directly to source and am reading books by Bhante G, Thich Nhat Hanh and Ajahn Chah.

However, I am still floating when it comes to the matters of thoughts in general and judgements.

1. I am aware that in practice and life we aim for non-judgment. From what I have read I see this more of letting go of judgement when it arises rather rgan no judging occurring. However, when, if ever, is judgment permissible? Say  I notice something health-wise that is a possible symptom of illness. I *have* to judge it as a possible hazard to health to look after myself, how does this fit with non-judgement?

2. Similarly, we treat our thoughts and emotions as mere thoughts and emotions and not necessarily 'truth'. But when do I know that something, a thought, is true? Extending vthe above example, I have the thought, "Hmm, I need to get this looked at." If I treat that as just a thought and don't act on it that wpould be unwise. So what IS it about such a thought that distinguishes it as one which *is* true?

Dhamma

• May we all fulfill our deepest wish for happiness
    • Zen/Tibetan/Theravada
Re: When do we accept the content of thoughts and judgment as 'valid'?
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2020, 02:01:12 AM »
There is a fine line, but we can see wrongdoing clearly as wrongdoing and condemn it strongly without judging.