Author Topic: Monks in monistries dont look happy alot of the time. Are they?  (Read 1019 times)

Username

• Who are you?
    • Non self taught
Monks in monistries dont look happy alot of the time. Are they?
« on: November 27, 2020, 03:30:41 AM »
Why cant you hear it on their voice, see it on their face, or see laughter smiles this kind of thing? They are hard core why are the results not more obvious and visible?

The Dali Lama, he is noticeably cheerful, hes laughing upbeat, high in mood.  Most monks I see are not like this.

I know not all pleasurable feeling is visible but there always some signs, very subtle facial expressions (face lights up) and the tone of voice is hard to disguise, you know the overwhelming evidence that I can see in documentaries etc is footage of not especially happy people and that doesn't make any sense because they are the ones that put the most time into this.

Am I wrong if so how?

« Last Edit: November 27, 2020, 03:39:14 AM by Username »

raushan

• from India
    • S. N. Goenka switched to Samatha Forest Tradition
Re: Monks in monistries dont look happy alot of the time. Are they?
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2020, 10:21:49 AM »
It's your illusion that you can judge someone from the facial expression. Some people have personalities that they will never laugh even if how happy they are. Stop creating false stories in your mind.

Username

• Who are you?
    • Non self taught
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2020, 08:12:58 PM »
You can see subtle things its not as simple as a smile or no smile the eyes light up for example its very minute but u can still see it. So it doesn't matter if the person is humble or not you can only do a poker face so well under the influence of certain feelings.

Secondly you cant disguise tone of voice, you know you dont speak all normal or grumpy in your tone of voice if you feel deep peace or happiness , its flavours your voice.