Author Topic: Newbie with questions  (Read 909 times)

marcodisco

• Who are you?
    • Vipassana / Mindfulness
Newbie with questions
« on: January 30, 2020, 07:52:37 PM »
Hi everybody!
I'm a newbie really happy that discovered meditation! I'm meditating since around 4 months and in the last 2 I practice 1 hour per day in two session of half an hour.
I'm pretty satisfied about by my sessions, but as newbie I don't know exactly what I'm doing or supposed to get out of that.
I feel I need someone to give me some advises, I'll try to don't be messy and make it short and clear.I have to say sorry in advance if I'm using wrong terms, please forgive me.

Meditation became a key point of my life, I saw the benefits since the begin, I'm more calm, no anxiety and I can dive into things easily
I can even listen the music better, more sounds, more focused.
And on top of that I like to meditate.

I don't know anybody that meditates, so I started and learned by myself, I wasn't happy about what I found online till I stumbled upon the app Waking Up by Sam Harris. I think that he makes a mix between vipassana and mindfulness, maybe Is not good but for me as a newbie gave me the imprint and then I could practice on my own.

My session are around 30/40 minutes, lately with open eyes even if I think that I reach a "higher" status with them closed. Since a couple of months I can easily feel my breathe, my body tingling and vibrating, the first times I got scared and I read in this forum that is pretty normal, nowadays I think I got used to. It's still more difficult to feel the head.
During the session I have some glimpses of "peace" a moment when the voice in my head fades away and I can just feel the body and the sounds. It lasts for a little while (I don't know exactly), and then restart the "struggle", or better the presence of the thoughts that sometimes I can see without "getting involved".