Author Topic: Sharing my experience with difficult sensations in the "third eye" region  (Read 179 times)

chin

• Goenka
Just thought of sharing this, since it's something I struggle with. I don't really have a question for the group, since the technique is already quite clear about how to deal with it.  :)

Background: I've been practicing Vipassana since 2016. My primary practice is the Goenka-style Anapana+Vipassana+Metta for 1 hour every day and I've been fairly regular with it. I often use other guided meditations from the Insight Timer app, especially for the Metta portion of my session.

Issue: Ever since my first retreat in 2016, I've been dealing with a rather unpleasant tightening in the "third eye" region, moving down into the back of my nose and sometimes all the way down to my upper lip. It is definitely linked to my meditation but it far outlasts the sitting. It is present at many moments throughout the day. It feels almost constant, but closer investigation does reveal constant changes and shifts.

I've looked it up and found it described somewhere as "an energy field trying to force its way out" - and although I don't like the New Age-y language, it's the best description I've found for what I experience.

Although it's not really painful, the constant unpleasant feeling makes it hard to stay equanimous with.

What has been working: Of late, I've found the sensation beginning to dissolve (3 years!!). Below are things I've found useful:

• Metta: by far the most helpful. Practicing hour-long metta sessions, especially self-directed really gives me lasting relief. I've also tried directing the metta to the parts experiencing the unpleasant sensation and that's also quite effective.