Author Topic: Do you catch other's thoughts?  (Read 1820 times)

VipassanaXYZ

• Write something about yourself here
    • Goenka
Do you catch other's thoughts?
« on: December 19, 2014, 10:00:21 AM »
I have been caught unaware many times when I catch other people's thoughts and these thoughts appears to me mine. I was suspecting that some of the thoughts in my head were not mine but recently many other instances actually helped me establish more clearly. I could tell my roomates dreams, I had a song that is not my taste running in my head and humming it when my room mate again said she had this song running in her head etc. Is it because of meditation:) How do you deal with this? Any other such observations?

JMatlack

• I am a psychology student who meditates
    • mindfulness
    • determined
Re: Do you catch other's thoughts?
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2014, 11:29:35 AM »
first of all you must know yourself very well in order to make these conclusions. Knowing that these thoughts come from another source other then your authentic will is difficult to discover. Truthfully, since birth, in my opinion, it has happened to everyone.  Dealing with it is simple. Just accept that meditation has opened your mind to the capability of suggestion.  In order to better progress on your journey. In the end YOU will be emitting metta to others through the very nature of suggestion that you are become aware of as songs and dreams.  That's just my opinion though. I have the very same situation all the time depending on what I am doing.
"THE ALL (god) is MIND; the universe is mental" written in The Kybalion

Middleway

• Just be a witness.
    • Vipassana as taught by Mr. Goenka - Switched to Shamatha
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2014, 08:02:11 PM »
Yes, it is because of meditation. I would ignore it and not talk about it, as it spooks people.
Take everything I say with a grain of salt.

Goofaholix

• Theravada / Insight Meditation
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2014, 10:38:22 PM »