Author Topic: Sharing my meditation progress Have few questions  (Read 432 times)

raushan

• Staff
  • from India
    • S. N. Goenka switched to Samatha Forest Tradition
Sharing my meditation progress Have few questions
« on: January 19, 2018, 02:49:26 PM »
Hi Guys,

I have few questions. I have been practicing meditation now for almost 2 years almost 2 hours a day. Although I observed changes in me overall. But I still struggle with focusing during meditation. I feel from few months my concentration has been degraded than earlier or may be it's the same. My mind still wander like anything. I still feel the fear as earlier whenever I have to give any test.

I listened lot of dharma talks from Joseph Goldstein, Ajahn Brahm and jack kornfield. But these concepts are still alien to me like You are not your thoughts.

Bad habits still attack very strongly. Or, sometimes I am not even aware when I get into my old habit pattern like increasing the use of internet, mobile. Leaving important task and procrastinating with unimportant one like reading some novel or books.

I think I am at the same place for like last 4-5 months. Or, sometimes I wonder whether I have actually changed even. Because I see something positive in me but it doesn't last long I still fall back to the older patterns. Changes are there but it's not consistent.

Sometimes I go through the very painful mental states for very long period like 1-2 months. These painful states involves lot of guilt, regrets, anxiety, self criticism and letharginess. I don't feel like doing anything during these states.

Should I improve anything with my practice? 

Thanks
Raushan
« Last Edit: January 19, 2018, 03:09:43 PM by raushan »

Vivek

• Staff
    • Advaita & U Ba Khin's tradition
Re: Sharing my meditation progress Have few questions
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2018, 04:28:09 PM »
I feel from few months my concentration has been degraded than earlier or may be it's the same.