Author Topic: I had an experience and now I have a question.  (Read 614 times)

QuietFox

• So what is a good meditator? The one who meditates
  • Who are you?
    • vipassana
I had an experience and now I have a question.
« on: April 22, 2017, 05:10:07 PM »
I need someone to explain this to me. I've been meditating for over 3 months now. I have tried a few different techniques but have settled on vipassana. I focus on the breath as it comes in and out of the tips of my nostrils. When a thought enters my mind I note that it is "thinking" and then return to the breath. I do this for 30 minutes. Every day.

I have had a few experiences where this amazing warm feeling washes over my entire body and my mind seems to open to a wide expanse where my breathing becomes absolutely beautiful. My heart rate increases as well.

Today I sat for 30 minutes and my mind was a bit active compared to other days recently. So when the timer went off I continued to sit. At some point after 30 minutes I had that warm feeling experience wash over me and it was even more profound. It then subsided for a few minutes and then returned even stronger. It was absolutely mind blowing. Such and incredible feeling of strong warmth or joy or bliss or.....I'm not quite sure how to describe it. I started breathing quicker, my heart was pounding, but I have never felt better in my life. It was absolutely earth shattering.

Can someone here please explain what happened to me and what this experience is?

LoneWolf

• Who are you?
    • Vipassana (Goenka)
Re: I had an experience and now I have a question.
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2017, 05:30:25 PM »
Only you know what happened to you, it was an experience of your body :) Don't worry too much about defining it!