Author Topic: Does your mind automatically let go of mind chatter when "off the cushion?"  (Read 3345 times)

Ja192827

• Who are you?
    • Vipissana
When not meditating, when your mind gets caught up in unskillful chatter, do you find that your mind unconsciously lets it go? Or in order for your mind to become still again, do you need to consciously let the unskillful thought go? I ask because I am curious if I am headed in the right direction. (I realize we need to not have rigid goals associated with meditating) I have been meditating for 90-120 min/day for several months now and have not noticed an automatic, subconscious habit of my mind letting go of mind chatter.  But maybe this never happens, maybe it always needs to be done on a conscious basis, but just gets easier to do over time. Thanks in advance.

Laurent

• don't feed the troll
Hello,

I have noticed a subconscious habit of my mind to get mindful sometime, without making it consciously.
In buddhism, every skillful or unskillful mental traits are regarded as "mental factors", so there is actually a cumulative process. It is in accordance with the 4 efforts, the development of the 7 awakening factors, and others. Only nibbana is not conditioned, but whole the path uses conditioning to reach this ultimate state.

Ja192827

• Who are you?
    • Vipissana
Thanks, Laurent. Anyone else?

behappy123

• Who are you?
    • vipassana
Whether I'm meditating or not, the process is the same.  i have to make a conscious effort to not let the useless thoughts run away  :'(.  The good thing is that since I've started meditating, the frequency and the duration before I realize it's useless have both decreased dramatically.  Meditation has given me something to "occupy" my mind with while that chatter is starting to run away  :)

Frightful

• Write something about yourself here
    • mindfulness