Author Topic: Shamatha for purification of the mind?  (Read 2108 times)

Teej

• Who are you?
    • Goenka
Shamatha for purification of the mind?
« on: September 17, 2016, 07:49:05 AM »
Hello,

I am new to this community, and I'm very grateful to this forum for helping me realize that whatever difficulties I'm experiencing now is part of progress. I'm currently undergoing 'The Dark Night' phase of my meditation. I've been practicing under Goenka lineage for two years now and I've seen much changes in me esp. just right after my first course (probably it's the A&P phase). My incessant thinking got less and I felt I reacted neutrally to situations. This was also the time I got so many things material wise (maybe, as a reward from Dhamma?).

However, during my second course, it was a lot different. I felt like I regressed. So much tension from my mind and body had resurfaced. From then on, I've been on/off depression. It's been really hard. I got more anxious than usual. I couldn't focus or work on specific tasks. I lost many things (e.g. job) because of my disturbed mind. Though I do know that everything is anicca. I'm so so scared of death and thinking people around me would die; although I realize these are only sankharas I suppressed before.

A week ago, I've practiced Shamatha, and it seems to work. I had less fearful and gory thoughts compared to when I practiced Anapana. I calmed down a bit. However, I am wondering since Anapana can bring out all the negativities -- anger, pain, traumas onto the surface, it means it's cleansing the mind, which is a good thing. But how about Shamatha, doesn't it suppress the thoughts even more? or can I make sure that by practicing it I can also purify my mind and mental defilements just like what Anapana + Vipassana is doing?

I will be truly grateful if you can help me here through your answers and experiences.

With metta,
TJ

stillpointdancer

• stillpointdancer
  • Retired teacher, deepening understanding of Dharma