Author Topic: Should I read suttas and other buddhism books as a beginner  (Read 1343 times)

raushan

• Staff
  • from India
    • S. N. Goenka switched to Samatha Forest Tradition
Should I read suttas and other buddhism books as a beginner
« on: September 04, 2016, 06:37:11 PM »
Hi,
I have a doubt that should I read the suttas and other buddhism books as I have been doing the vipassana only for last 6 months. In 18-20 years of age I read many philosophical books like Osho and other and I couldn't understand it properly although I thought I understood everything. It wasn't beneficial rather it had negative impact.
Now before start reading books I want to take opinion of other experienced meditators what kinds of books related to vipassana will be beneficial for me?

Also, I think reading books will give the deeper understanding but can also create the confusion. I have completed one 10 days retreat. Is it fine if I just do the practice for now? Should I read the books too for more understanding and consistency of practice of the Dhamma.

Laurent

• don't feed the troll
Re: Should I read suttas and other buddhism books as a beginner
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2016, 10:33:24 PM »
Meditation + suttas is an excellent combination, as practice is necessary to understand the suttas and suttas are an excellent guide for meditation and dhamma in general.

For other books, you are the judge, it can create doubt but in the long run, should be beneficial when you have read a lot of books. Overview of a lot of books is probably beneficial, i guess.
I have read a lot of books and couldn't say one is better than the other (perhaps the tibetan book of death was the worse though).
Though, i remember the book that lead me to go to Goenka. "Santana", written by Dominique Godrèche, but it is a french book, i don't know if it is translated in english. It could interest you.

I am 39 years old, practise the dhamma since the age of 22 (my first 10 days course  :) :) :)).