Author Topic: Anatta-lakkhana Sutta: The Discourse on the Not-self Characteristic  (Read 2529 times)

JMatlack

• I am a psychology student who meditates
    • mindfulness
    • determined
I am reading in this Sutta about Buddhas Beliefs of not-self. While reading a third time I have come to the conclusion that a definition of what the self is ( to the Buddha) is necessary for understanding this sutta fully.  Can anyone help me understand. It seems that the self must be a thing that is absent misery and suffering. Does anyone know historically what they used to believe the self to be in his day?

"THE ALL (god) is MIND; the universe is mental" written in The Kybalion

Matthew

• The Irreverent Buddhist
  • Meditation: It's a D.I.Y. project.
    • KISS: Keep it simple stupid.
    • Getting nowhere slowly and enjoying every moment.
Hi JM,

I think you may be taking a perspective on this that is fundamentally mistaken. In the Anatta-lakhanna Sutta the Buddha is simply going through the five Skandhas (aggregates) in turn, and explaining that none of them are unchangeable, that they are all impermanent, and none can therefore be the basis of an ever-unchanging "self" or "soul". This never changing "self" or "soul" was the predominating belief of the pre-Hindu Brahmanism that Buddhism was, in many ways, opposed to philosophically, practically and doctrinally. In that doctrine the self was destined to be reincarnated innumerable times to live the same life over.

This text by Thanissaro might help you get the context more clearly: