Author Topic: Teaching mindfulness  (Read 2728 times)

Libertynow

• Who are you?
    • Daily morning meditation
Teaching mindfulness
« on: March 07, 2016, 03:49:26 AM »
I've been meditating for many many years and practicing every day mindfulness to help with anxiety. And I feel like I want to teach mindfulness to other people in my community. A question I have is do you need any kind of background to teach mindfulness? If I'm understanding this correctly a person needs a background in psychiatry or social work.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2016, 03:52:46 AM by Libertynow »

inwentor

• Who are you?
    • I focus on nothingness while meditation
Re: Teaching mindfulness
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2016, 04:26:16 AM »
First of all thank you for coming forward to help others!
Many people expect many different things from a master. I am from India, so I don't actually expect any kind of certification from a master to teach me because of the way I know teachers. I just want to know how long have you been practicing mindfulness? And can you explain what is mindfulness in your own way so that people will be interested in the view you have for mindfulness :)

Goofaholix

• Write something about yourself here
    • Theravada / Insight Meditation
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2016, 06:04:18 AM »
I don't know how it works in MBSR but in Buddhist circles generally I'd expect your teacher to recognise your potential and take you under his/her wing and give you opportunities to help teach or lead over a period of time.

Matthew

• The Irreverent Buddhist
  • Staff
  • Meditation: It's a D.I.Y. project.
    • KISS: Keep it simple stupid.
    • Getting nowhere slowly and enjoying every moment.
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2016, 11:31:19 AM »
You need no labels or qualifications to teach mindfulness. There are some you can attain such as MBSR (Mindfulness based Stress Reduction) and MCBT (Mindfulness-Cognitive Behavioural Therapy). I do not know the requirements for either.