Author Topic: The basic method of meditation  (Read 7459 times)

purity

• Who are you?
    • mahasi
The basic method of meditation
« on: February 14, 2016, 02:57:27 AM »
I read on a different website an article by Ajahn Brahmavamso article "the basic method of meditation" and I am a bit confused about it. I am self taught and have meditated for about 5 years but recently I have felt like my mind is constantly racing from one thought to another and I get a bit frustrated and bored with meditating because I don't feel like I experience any stillness but instead its just this constant monkey mind. After reading the article I thought perhaps I did not do the first two stages enough and so now after 5 years my mind is not still and perhaps I need to go back and start again.

I am unclear about how to actually practice the first two stages. I have no idea how to meditate without using my breath as an anchor. Ajahn Brahmavamso says that concentration on breath starts in the third stage. How specifically do I (1)sustain attention on the present moment, and practice (2)silent awareness of the present moment, without using the breath? He has not really given any specific instruction in the article. Do I not focus on the breath at all? Maybe I am misunderstanding this?

Pacific Flow

• Write something about yourself here
    • Goenka Vipassana
Re: The basic method of meditation
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2016, 04:02:28 AM »
I find that article not very helpful as an instruction for meditation. To be honest, i would just dismiss it. Forget about it.
The breath is, at least from my own personal experience, a great starting point to take up meditation.
Have you thought about doing a retreat of some kind? The path can come become a lot clearer during such a period of intense meditation.

purity

• Who are you?
    • mahasi
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2016, 08:19:09 AM »