Author Topic: Reincarnation  (Read 3106 times)

Hazmatac

Reincarnation
« on: September 26, 2008, 04:00:10 AM »
I don't know if it exists. Sometimes I see a person and it seems like I have known them for a long time even though we just met. Supposedly there are Chakras that get you in touch with your Karma and passed lives but I'm no expert on that. So, what are your thoughts? Do you think reincarnation happens or is it a lie? Remember the buddha said to see for yourself rather than take his words on blind faith. Does anybody have any experience with this? Thank you.

Robert

Jack

Re: Reincarnation
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2008, 09:12:07 AM »
I don't know either.  If many religions believe in some kind of afterlife, then maybe it isn't too much of a reach to believe in Samsara.  It is, for me, somewhat comforting to think that I have more than this life to "get it right".  Also, the cause and effect of Karma makes perfect sense to me.

Once one accepts a cycle of rebirth, then one may also accept the many different realms of Buddhism; God, Hungry Ghost, Human, Animal and Hell realms, for example.  But, that takes a bit more faith as it goes beyond many mainstream religions.

Jack

Samsara Addict

« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2008, 07:28:29 PM »
Hi everyone,

This is my first post. Just joined today. Writing from Newcastle, England.

At this point in my practice I've not had an experience that would lead me to believe in Reincarnation. I have met one monk, whom I respect and trust, who said that during a sitting he experienced himself as a former self in a past life. I asked him how he knew his mind was not simply playing tricks on him. He couldn't rule that out. I have also asked the following question to several teachers but I've not yet heard a satisfactory answer: If in Buddhism there is no soul then what is it that is reincarnated? I would be grateful to hear anyones thoughts on this.

With metta

Samsara Addict

Matthew

• The Irreverent Buddhist