Author Topic: Potention of Meditation For Altering States of Consciousness  (Read 3006 times)

Jayess

• Write something about yourself here
    • Not applicable
Potention of Meditation For Altering States of Consciousness
« on: September 07, 2015, 04:39:11 PM »
Hi everyone

My question is quite simple, however I'd like to briefly explain the background behind why I'm interested in meditation; it's quite a strange reason really ha.

- Firstly I have been using recreational drugs such as MDMA for a few years now. I love the feeling it brings when I listen to music or how I view the world during the experience as well. However, lately I have found though that when I listen to music now without it, I am not enjoying it as much. Music has always been a huge part of my life but without MDMA it seems like there now is something missing, I cannot just be at peace with music without stressing about being without MDMA. I suppose it's because when I am taking MDMA it just seems like nothing else matters at all except the music for that point in time, or maybe it's because it makes me that happy that the music somehow seems better than what it is. I close my eyes sometimes and it's like my brain takes me on a visual journey and you travel somewhere with the music.

My question is, how much potential does meditation have with regards to altering ones state of consciousness? Could meditation enable me to enjoy music and art on the same conscious level as drugs can?

Sorry if this seems like a stupid question but I have very little knowledge on the subject and I am always eager to understand as much as I can.

Thupten

• Just a monk.
    • Dzogchen
Re: Potention of Meditation For Altering States of Consciousness
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2015, 09:11:17 PM »
Maybe it's not so much about altering the consciousness as it is about allowing oneself to abide in the true nature of ultimate consciousness.