Author Topic: I'm a meditation noob, but I've had fairly quick/good results. Questions inside.  (Read 1833 times)

Brain Man

• Write something about yourself here
    • vipassana
So, I just registered about a week ago. I'll introduce myself in the introduction topic, but this is sort of a more full introduction as to how I got involved in meditation. So, I think I initially took interest in meditation when I was listening to Sam Harris on the first Joe Rogan Experience podcast he was a guest on. He mentioned that it's possible to achieve an MDMA state from meditation alone. At the time I thought this would be something that would take months or years to do, but somehow I managed to achieve that similar/lesser MDMA state already. It was delayed, coming about a couple to a few hours after I meditated. It's happened a couple times now.

I've heard that, of course, this is something that people can get addicted to and the ultimate goal is not to do this, but to achieve a greater state of awareness and to realize negative thoughts are the source of suffering. Avoiding the pits of negativity should be the goal, but of course, it's hard not to want to experience these sensations. I've had some tranquil experiences, too, but if they come they seem to come instantly. So I've been meditating for about a month and a half now, almost every day. Usually I'll meditate for about 15 minutes, but I have had a half hour and 45 minute session.