Author Topic: Dealing with feelings arising  (Read 2423 times)

vikingbuddha

• Write something about yourself here
    • Vipassana
Dealing with feelings arising
« on: May 01, 2015, 05:38:19 PM »
I have now meditated for a few months. 
To my surprise has things such as anger and jealousy
Improved.  But i still struggle with sadness and anxiety. 
Any words of advice?

Re: Dealing with feelings arising
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2015, 06:03:51 PM »
The negativity for some like anger , jealously , pride are easily subdued but others like fear , lust etc are very deep rooted n takes time ... Just keep practicing

vikingbuddha

• Vipassana
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2015, 06:59:20 PM »
Ok!
And the practice is meditation and letting go?
I was surprised to see that the anger started to
Dissolve but not the dear and sadness.
Anyway i think its very positive to see improvement

JMatlack

• I am a psychology student who meditates
    • mindfulness
    • determined
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2015, 08:15:00 PM »
Don't focus so much on not feeling anxiety and sadness but fully appreciate and experience them for what they are. As you meditate you may come to discover what that is by simply observing them as they are, in the present, without judging yourself for feeling them. That's the most important part. Please try not to judge yourself for having sadness and anxiety or even anger; they all are a part of the human experience. 

Most people consider the advice of veteran meditators to not consider or discriminate whether something is good or bad but the advice not to judge implies to not judge yourself for judging not necessarily changing your moral standpoint.  Some things will always be considered bad and other good and for good reason.  But also, we shouldn't judge others for their actions and feelings either. 

I hope this has been useful to some degree!
"THE ALL (god) is MIND; the universe is mental" written in The Kybalion

Matthew

• The Irreverent Buddhist