Author Topic: Need a little guidance and advice  (Read 2004 times)

WilhelmVivas

• Write something about yourself here
    • Buddhist
Need a little guidance and advice
« on: February 15, 2015, 04:55:58 AM »
I'll try and keep it short. I've been meditating for about 2 months now. Some questions I have are:

1. When watching thoughts, sometimes it feels like I'm lying in wait, and when I catch one my mind seizes it and says aha! Gotcha!. Other times I'll realize I've been caught up in a train of thoughts and come back to my breathing. I try and stay relaxed, but when I get too relaxed my mind unknowingly wanders. How am I supposed to watch my thoughts without overdoing it?

Does properly watching thoughts and body experiences come from experience? I feel like sometimes I try too hard, other times I'm too relaxed. what is your advice?

Thank you for your time and responses!

Max

Re: Need a little guidance and advice
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2015, 09:43:49 AM »
That already sounds very skilful. Usually, it takes people much longer to work with thoughts as this is one of the more difficult objects.

Re. the relaxation part: In my opinion, that's exactly what happens when your mind is trying to find the balance between relaxation and energetic attention - it sometimes "drops" below a threshold and it wanders. From what you are describing here, you are doing fine, it's a learning process. Sometimes, there is not enough energy in the system to work with subtle objects: If you are trying to go for subtle objects, you burn out. In this case it is better to open your awareness to a less subtle object (body sensations) and/or have a broader lens (watch the breath in the whole of your body).