Author Topic: No visible results of Vipassana  (Read 3542 times)

gasteria

• Write something about yourself here
    • Vipassana
No visible results of Vipassana
« on: November 07, 2014, 01:58:03 AM »
I am a newbie to Vipassana because I finished my first retreat in August 2014. After I came back I diligently practice meditation at least once a day for an hour. I read a lot on this subject and consciously do my best to apply Ms. Goenka suggestions such as: I do not react to provocations, arguments, do not gossip and criticize people, do not provoke people myself, or react with anger, and restrain myself from hurting people emotionally. That is on conscious level. To achieve it I strongly control myself.

As for body scanning for sensations during meditation I haven't notice slightest improvement in my emotional and physical feelings. I still live in my misery of worrying, being afraid, being angry and impatient. I guess two months of meditation is not much considering my lifetime thought pattern that I need to change or discard. I cannot help myself but to crave for liberation, equanimity and awareness that has been promised by Vipassana. There should be no judgement and right or wrong way of practicing it but I still think that maybe I do something wrong or not do something that I should.

I wonder how other people progress in their practice of Vipassana.

Welcome any comments or sharing experience in this matter.

betty

• Combo of Adyashanti and Shinzen Youngs teachings
Re: No visible results of Vipassana
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2014, 02:18:26 AM »
Meditation is a funny thing: we do it without attachment to the results, while all the time keeping an eye on what we perceive to be results!     ;)