Author Topic: Just sharing  (Read 2049 times)

VipassanaXYZ

• Write something about yourself here
    • Goenka
Just sharing
« on: October 06, 2014, 10:20:38 AM »
I had a dream last night: went through a difficult journey to ordain as a nun in Burma, reached the monastery gates and was going through formalities when I woke up - Monday, get ready for office. I think I prefer being a nun and have scriptures and scholars around me, that much I know now.

JMatlack

• I am a psychology student who meditates
    • mindfulness
    • determined
Re: Just sharing
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2014, 04:28:20 PM »
It has been my dream since childhood to be a monk.  I have told my family many times but they are so afraid to lose me that  they ridicule the lifestyle and rebuke me for my interest in it.  Sounds like a wonderful dream! Thanks for sharing
"THE ALL (god) is MIND; the universe is mental" written in The Kybalion

Alex

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2014, 05:23:03 PM »
Nice dream! I had fantasies of becoming a monk a few years ago  :angel:
I actually struggled a lot with the ambivalence I felt about it. I imagine I might consider it again when I'm older, when I no longer have worldly ambitions or responsibilities...

Is becoming a nun something you are considering, poojavassa?

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2014, 06:03:13 PM »
I have a dog to take are of. As soon as it passes away I am off to Burma..... Can't wait....

Dharmic Tui

• Something
    • Some Theravada, some secular
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2014, 06:23:48 PM »
I often contemplate how much different the path is living a monastic life. Part of it seems a little artificial given its a highly controlled environment with far less stimulae and things to cloud the mind. I think my compromise would be to stop working and spend all day in my garden, my work seems to hit my equanimity like a tonne of bricks each day.

VipassanaXYZ

• Goenka
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2014, 07:41:07 AM »