Author Topic: Whats best for a body scan/sweep? Removing sanksaras?  (Read 2853 times)

JMatlack

• I am a psychology student who meditates
    • mindfulness
    • determined
Whats best for a body scan/sweep? Removing sanksaras?
« on: September 22, 2014, 01:07:00 AM »
I am wondering. How do some of you readers out there go about performing a body scan or body sweep to become more aware of the subtler sensations of the body?  I have heard to go every 3 inches but is that horizontally speaking or is it in a diameter around a particular point of the body? Do I evaluate the legs and arms together or separately?

Also after I have established a strong awareness of body, How do I discriminate thoughts to prevent and eliminate sanskaras?  Do I label, for example whether a thought is useful or not useful, do I ask where it came from and feel the sensations on the body that correlate? Basically, how do I go about removing  sanskaras in the simplest and plainest way you can describe?
"THE ALL (god) is MIND; the universe is mental" written in The Kybalion

Tobin

• Seeking Truth
    • Samatha & Vipassana
    • Curious
Re: Whats best for a body scan/sweep? Removing sanksaras?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2014, 02:02:38 AM »
The idea I got from my Goenka retreat was that sankaras are released by allowing the sensations that arise to be as they are.

As far as spacing goes, starting with larger chunks as you build sensitivity and reducing them to smaller chunks as you become more refined is how I was taught. I don't think there is a hard and fast rule about how large a chunk is/should be, but I could be wrong. If you are having trouble noticing sensations with the size of chunks you are working with, make them larger until you can consistently notice and reduce from there. Goenka never really mentioned EXACTLY how to split all parts of the body, so just go with what works for you.