Author Topic: Goenka style vipassana  (Read 3798 times)

JMatlack

• I am a psychology student who meditates
    • mindfulness
    • determined
Goenka style vipassana
« on: September 08, 2014, 07:02:02 PM »
Can someone go into detail as to how Goenka does vipassana? I'm not able to go yet until after March 2015.  But my anapana is very proficient and I would like to begin practicing.  I know it is a series of body scans or sweeping as he calls it.  Can you tell me what parts of the body he scans particularly so I can begin. I would imagine I would stay at one particular part of the body for about 1-2 minutes ad then move on.  Also, what is a fast scan. Does it correlate to the breath or is it just a faster scan?
"THE ALL (god) is MIND; the universe is mental" written in The Kybalion

Goofaholix

• Write something about yourself here
    • Theravada / Insight Meditation
Re: Goenka style vipassana
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2014, 09:01:28 PM »
I think it's difficult to learn outside of retreat conditions and you are better off sticking with awareness of breathing for now if you are planning for something in March.

You could try being more aware of the body though, either during your meditation, or during daily activities.  It's good to start a sitting by checking out the body, moving attention through it making sure you aren't holding tension etc.  You could also do it whenever you find anapana gets too "tight".

Tobin

• Seeking Truth
    • Samatha & Vipassana
    • Curious
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2014, 10:19:24 PM »
This is how we were taught when I attended a Goenka retreat: