Author Topic: Racing heart during meditation!  (Read 11877 times)

John Bruzi

• I don't seek happiness, I just seek control.
    • Mindfulness
Racing heart during meditation!
« on: October 23, 2013, 03:13:37 PM »
Hi guys! This is my first post.

I'm new to meditation and have been practicing it for about 4 days. During my first session, after some 20 minutes of concentrating on my breath and bodily feelings, I had this crazy feeling of imminent movement in the head and as the "movement" got stronger my heart started rushing badly to a point where I was shaking and losing concentration.

It felt almost like a confrontation. I was becoming heavy and the adrenaline was rushing to my nerves and paralyzing me. Somehow I'm not unhappy with this, as it represents an opportunity for me to face those annoying emotions of fear without real-life consequences (like losing face in front of family or friends).

So, why is this happening?

Quardamon

• Teachers were: P.K.K. Mettavihari, Frits Koster, Nel Kliphuis. (In the line of Mahasi Sayadaw)
Re: Racing heart during meditation!
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2013, 06:56:19 PM »
Hello John Bruzi,

Maybe you will not like what I am going to say.
There is a small category of people form whom it is not a wise thing to meditate.
That is the category of people that live with an inner volcano.
For those, even relaxing needs to be done under strict control.

Some people need control to survive. Or they needed it in the past. For those it is an unwise thing to simpy relax and see what happens. It is wiser, to first grow an understanding of what might happen. Do you know the book "Waking the Tiger" by Peter Levine? 

If you do not understand what I am talking about, then I am simply wrong.
If you do understand, we can have some interaction on this forum to clarify things.
I could explain why I think along these lines.
But I like to check with you first, if that is OK with you.

Take care.

Quardamon

John Bruzi

• Mindfulness