Author Topic: Meditation - Working definition  (Read 2694 times)

Middleway

• Just be a witness.
    • Vipassana as taught by Mr. Goenka - Switched to Shamatha
Meditation - Working definition
« on: April 17, 2014, 02:32:38 AM »
Folks, I found this definition of meditation in a book on eastern philosophy (Nisargadatta Maharaj). As a beginner, I would like to solicit your opinion on it. Please let me know your thoughts.

Thanks.

Middleway

"Meditation is a deliberate attempt to pierce into the higher states of consciousness and finally go beyond it. The art of meditation is the art of shifting the focus of attention to ever subtler levels, without losing one’s grip on the levels left behind. In a way it is like having death under control.

One begins with the lowest levels: social circumstances, customs and habits; physical surroundings, the posture and the breathing of the body; the senses, their sensations and perceptions; the mind, its thoughts and feelings; until the entire mechanism of personality is grasped and firmly held.

The final stage of meditation is reached when the sense of identity goes beyond the ‘I am-so-and-so’, beyond ‘so-I-am’, beyond ‘I-am-the-witness-only’, beyond ‘there-is’, beyond all ideas into the impersonally personal pure being".
Take everything I say with a grain of salt.

Just A Simple Guy

• Bubba Hotep
    • Curiosity and Exploration
Re: Meditation - Working definition
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2014, 10:45:31 AM »
If we're speaking of mindfulness meditation I like Jon Kabat-Zinn's operational definition. It's paying attention on purpose in the present moment and non-judgmentally.

The way I look at it is wherever that leads is a byproduct of the practice, not the practice itself. It's kind of like what Bruce Lee said about Jeet Kune Do:

"Again let me remind you Jeet Kune Do is just a name used, a boat to get one across, and once across it is to be discarded and not to be carried on one's back."