Author Topic: Visualisation or meditation?  (Read 7901 times)

p340

• Write something about yourself here
Visualisation or meditation?
« on: April 12, 2014, 12:19:54 PM »
First i want say hello to everybody around here. I am very happy that there are so many loving and caring people out there, and that they share their wisdom. I have some questions about meditation practice that other threads didn't completly answer. I hope i'll do no repost..

I am a beginner. I tried some different approaches and chose "headspace", the app or the programm to get started with meditation seriously. After some reading here i guess what *Andy* teaches is shamatha with a little bit of vipassana. So the technic starts with getting rested, then scanning the body, getting clear about motivation, and then focus on breath while counting to ten, later on to five only the out-breaths.

My trouble:
while everything of this i visualize. While body scanning i visualize the bodyparts - i can see them in front of me. So i guess it's quite dissoziative. The same happens with my breath. I visualize my nose or even imagine a pale blue breath while i am following it. or i visualize my chest expanding, seeing through me. In different threads some say that this is a "normal obstacle" on the path, and that one should try not to visualize.

My problem is i can not do anything without visualization. It is that much effort for me just to let the visualizations for fractions of a second go, that there is no real meditation practice left. I do not relax. It is very, very hard for me.

So i have to decide:

- visualize and get relaxed after following an picture of my breath which isn't my breath. I feel good after doing this, but some say it will never develop in real meditation, just in some sort of hypnosis.

or

- fight (!) for real attention without visualisations or imagination, wich does't make me feel really good afterwards...

Thank you so much.

Just A Simple Guy

• Bubba Hotep