Author Topic: Is meditation a state of mind?  (Read 1418 times)

dennis

• Write something about yourself here
    • none yet
Is meditation a state of mind?
« on: February 04, 2014, 05:19:15 PM »
Hello.  As an abject beginner I was wondering if someone would tell me if meditation was a state of mind created by a combination of other "mind states" brought into being through guided concentration?  Is this thought far too simplistic?

denny

Dharmic Tui

• Something
    • Some Theravada, some secular
Re: Is meditation a state of mind?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2014, 05:44:07 PM »
Meditation is just an activity but through it you can alter your state of mind. I wouldn't say you combine other states of mind more than you manage to view states of mind as just that.

Matthew

• The Irreverent Buddhist
  • Staff
  • Meditation: It's a D.I.Y. project.
    • KISS: Keep it simple stupid.
    • Getting nowhere slowly and enjoying every moment.
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2014, 06:17:26 PM »
Hi denny,

Meditation is the practice of right effort, mindfulness and concentration, together these form the meditative aspects of the eightfold path in Buddhism under the umbrella of concentration. Effort, mindfulness and concentration are states of mind - in fact many states of mind that will be experienced in walking the path. The conditions for meditation to arise are mind states also and so I'd agree with both your description and DT's .. but the rabbit hole is deep and in this respect your description is simplistic.

Kindly,

Matthew
« Last Edit: February 04, 2014, 06:20:45 PM by Matthew »
~oOo~     Tat Tvam Asi     ~oOo~    How will you make the world a better place today?     ~oOo~    Fabricate Nothing     ~oOo~

dennis

• none yet
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2014, 04:39:21 PM »
Meditation is just an activity but through it you can alter your state of mind. I wouldn't say you combine other states of mind more than you manage to view states of mind as just that.