Author Topic: Why didn't I take the blue pill?  (Read 6319 times)

DarkNightOfNoSoul

• Lots of sharp rocks on this here path
    • Sayagyi U Ba Khin/Goenka, Mahasi Sayadaw
    • Slow learner
Why didn't I take the blue pill?
« on: November 18, 2013, 07:52:42 AM »
Hi all, bit of an outpouring of frustration and doubt below...sorry for the negative tone, but these emotions seem to arise on a regular basis and I'd like your feedback.

Background: Since swallowing Goenka's red pill back in 2006, I've attended four 10-day Goenka retreats. This year I completed a 21-day Mahasi Sayadaw retreat in Thailand, and spent 9 days at the Wat Pah Nanachat monastery (Thai forest tradition). I've been meditating daily for about two years now, have followed the five precepts as closely as I can since quitting drinking in 2007, and have recently started observing the eight precepts on Uposatha days (once a week). Adding it up, I figure I've completed around 1,500 hours of meditation since 2006.

Although nowadays I'm in the fortunate (?) position to be able to devote all my time to dhamma if I want, my motivation is unravelling. I think it's because my experience of meditation so far has primarily involved observing negative emotions and sensations, and positive experiences (sense of peace, happiness, bliss, etc) have been so rare I can count them on one hand. I don't believe I've experienced anything resembling a nana or jhana (from what I've read and heard). Perhaps my emotional reactivity in daily life has reduced marginally, though nobody close to me has remarked on any changes.