Author Topic: Can meditation help me through tough times?  (Read 2721 times)

wisdomfinder

• Write something about yourself here
    • None
Can meditation help me through tough times?
« on: October 24, 2013, 08:07:50 AM »
Hi Everyone,

I am new here i've been doing meditation one and off for a few years but never really started doing it properly until i've have had some very tough things going on in my life.

Recently my wife and I have split up 3 weeks ago  :'( I am not sure if any of you have turned to meditation because of something like this? I find that it is helping me through this tough time and calms my mind.

I normally do breath meditation for about 20 minutes at 11am and then another 20 minutes in the evening when I get home from work.

What I really need to know the more meditation I do will this help me get through this? Will it teach me to accept things what they are? Stop me from thinking about the past and future so much as I know living in the moment is one of meditations fundamentals.

Thank you in advance.

wisdomfinder

• None
Re: Can meditation help me through tough times?
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2013, 01:22:10 PM »
I'm sorry I seem to have put everyone on the spot  :-\

Purple

• No one told me this would be so boring.
    • Independent
    • One mistake after another...
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2013, 05:15:02 PM »
I'm sorry to hear about you and your wife. I'm sure it's a terrible time. Unfortunately, there's no good short answer to your question. Meditation isn't going to help you through this in the next few weeks. It's not going to lessen the pain you're going through or make you unattached and calm. It's not a quick fix.

However, there are certainly many benefits to maintaining your current practice. It will put you in touch with what you're feeling. It will expose you to all the raw emotions you're going through. If you can learn to meet all that with compassion instead of aversion, you will indeed start to get past this.