Author Topic: Newbie: Difficulty following breath  (Read 1506 times)

xaw

Newbie: Difficulty following breath
« on: July 13, 2013, 04:51:00 PM »
Hi all,

I am new to meditation and really want to start doing it routinely as part of my life.
I am currently reading mindfulness in plain english (but only 40% through it).

My goals are to become more relaxed in every day life, remove some anxiety and most importantly to lose my ego and stop thinking negatively so much.

I have been doing it 10-15 mins every day for the past week, but I am running into some difficulties.

I can't seem to focus solely on my breath and become aware of it.
I am always consciously thinking about each breath I take and there is a lot of mental clutter.
ie. I inhale - "Ok I think I felt which part of my nostril I felt the breath inhaling into, now to exhale". "Ok that's another exhale done".
I am pretty much commentating to myself if I followed my breath or not, as I read to find a point to focus on (something I am having trouble finding). So I keep questioning myself with every inhale/exhale if I found that point.
I am always trying to mentally picture my nose as I breath and which part I am feeling the breath in no matter how hard I try not to.

Hope someone can help as I don't think I am getting the full benefit out of it.

Thanks!

redalert

Re: Newbie: Difficulty following breath
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2013, 05:48:41 PM »
Hi all,

I am new to meditation and really want to start doing it routinely as part of my life.
I am currently reading mindfulness in plain english (but only 40% through it).

My goals are to become more relaxed in every day life, remove some anxiety and most importantly to lose my ego and stop thinking negatively so much.

I have been doing it 10-15 mins every day for the past week, but I am running into some difficulties.

Welcome to the forum xaw, it's good that you have started meditating and that is an excellent book.