Author Topic: Letting Go of Anger  (Read 3198 times)

Purple

• No one told me this would be so boring.
    • Independent
    • One mistake after another...
Letting Go of Anger
« on: June 16, 2013, 09:44:16 PM »
I don't like my job. I'm sure many of us don't. I've been waiting tables for a long time and, quite frequently, the public is just unbearable. I'm a writer struggling to make that my full time job but, until that glorious future materializes, I'm a server.

Vipassana has greatly helped me stay sane at my job but the main thing I can't get past right now is anger. When I get irritated or fed up with the job, I recognize the anger that arises. I feel it boil in my belly, I feel myself withdrawing, I see what it does to my balance and sanity.

Yet I can't let it go. I watch it pop up and wreak havoc, I know where it comes from, but I can't let it go. I'm the man holding the burning coal looking for someone to throw it at.

Any advice here?

amusiathread

Re: Letting Go of Anger
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2013, 04:43:57 AM »
I'm not the most experienced meditator here, and my own practice is less specifically vipassana and more an assortment of different practices and ideas. But I can relate to having served tables for an extended period of time. I'm at a loss for how someone could bear that job without practicing meditation and trying to cultivate mindfulness. Here are some ideas and observations that got me through it.

The rhythm! Feel the rhythm of the day, be mindful of it, try to enjoy it. Anyone who's worked at a busy restaurant will know what I'm talking about. It flows, kind of like a basketball game. It's a great metaphor for how the rest of life flows, a lot can be learned from it.