Author Topic: What to do when you cant feel your breath?  (Read 3886 times)

Pulgasari

What to do when you cant feel your breath?
« on: May 23, 2013, 09:26:49 AM »
I have been meditating for a few months now and I have been focusing on the feeling of my breath travelling in and out of my nostrils. However often my breath will become so soft and shallow that I can no longer feel anything.

At this point I am at a loss for what to do as I no longer have an object of consciousness to focus my attention on.

I have also tried performing the meditation by focusing on my stomache instead of my breath but I experience the same problem.

What to do when my breath has become so soft/shallow that I can no longer feel it?

redalert

Re: What to do when you cant feel your breath?
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2013, 10:57:29 AM »
Take a couple of forced hard breaths, locate the touch of breath and begin again. See if you can locate a single point where the breath touches on both the in and out breath and focus on this point.

Matthew

• The Irreverent Buddhist
  • Staff
  • Meditation: It's a D.I.Y. project.
    • KISS: Keep it simple stupid.
    • Getting nowhere slowly and enjoying every moment.
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2013, 11:12:37 AM »
This could be down to poor posture, poor technique or a number of other issues. When you say your practice is Vipassana where did you learn it? What is it?
~oOo~     Tat Tvam Asi     ~oOo~    How will you make the world a better place today?     ~oOo~    Fabricate Nothing     ~oOo~

Dharmic Tui

• Something
    • Some Theravada, some secular
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2013, 03:35:15 PM »