Author Topic: marijuana, meditation and awareness  (Read 17821 times)

jayjayshie

marijuana, meditation and awareness
« on: May 18, 2013, 04:48:54 AM »
I am very new to meditation and have only kept practice for about 2 months after my 10-day retreat at Goenka's. I have been smoking marijuana for about 2 years now and my life has improved in every aspect. The only thing I am concerned about is whether or not my daily marijuana use will regress my meditation practice.

I only smoke after my hour of meditation is complete, and I never meditate while I am high. Also I am wondering how I can increase my awareness in my sensations because since the retreat, I no longer feel my sensations to the extent that I did while I was at the retreat

Re: marijuana, meditation and awareness
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2013, 05:29:59 AM »
hi jay,

It is very much advisable to stop marijuana intake daily as you will find fake progress in meditation because of it. If possible stop it completely. If you cant at least do something like 15 days of smoke and then 1 month of non smoking.
The effect of the high lasts upto 7 days ( my experience).

I only smoke after my hour of meditation is complete,
this is a complete waste of meditation. This is why you are not able to increase the awareness of sensations.

garyblackhouse

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2013, 01:03:05 PM »
Hi jayjay,

I've told this before on the forum, but I smoked on and off for a year before taking a course 5 months ago. When I tried to stop I'd end up seeing reality hit me hard with panic attacks and insomnia. When people tell me they smoked daily for 2 years, 5 years, 10 years I can't imagine how they did it and/or do it. Maybe I was getting weak grass, maybe the highs just wore off for me quicker than the general public or maybe I was just extremely conscious of the effects it had on my life in general.