Author Topic: Focussing on the back of my eyelids?  (Read 6855 times)

Linde1

Focussing on the back of my eyelids?
« on: May 07, 2013, 09:55:04 AM »
Hi,
I am new to meditation. 
I started about 9 weeks ago and meditate ~20mins every morning.
Whilst meditating I was closing my eyes and looking at the back of my eyelids, as I thought that's what I was meant to do.
Half way through one session about week 3 I felt my eyes lose that focus and drift into that semi-aware state that you feel when you are trying to go to sleep.
I thought I was sleep-deprived and tried to regain my eye focus, but couldn't.

I can no longer maintain that focussed stare at the back of my eyelids for more than about 5 seconds.  I always fall into that semi-aware state I mentioned.  I am not sleepy, or sleeping and I never lose the mantra or the focus on my breath.

But, because it has changed, I am wondering about it.  Is this what I am supposed to feel? I always wonder if I am meant to keep some sort of sharp focussed conscious state instead of what I now expereince.

Would like to hear from anyone who knows what I mean.
Thanks

Dharmic Tui

• Something
    • Some Theravada, some secular
Re: Focussing on the back of my eyelids?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2013, 11:18:15 AM »
I wouldn't get too focused on whether your eyes are focused on the backs of your eyelids, or if your eyes are closed at all. I find it better to sit in the dark and have my eyes slightly open, rather than having to put conscious effort into having them closed.

A semi-aware state is halfway there :)

« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2013, 03:48:27 PM »
hi,